top of page

Dean Elmendorf speaks at Fall Reception

Over 180 HKS alumni, including six Members of Congress, joined Dean Doug Elmendorf for a formal reception in the Gold Room in the Rayburn Office Building at the United States Capitol.

As the sun set on the official first day of Fall, guests enjoyed a splendid evening in the Nation's Capital. Notable guests included Assistant Dean Christy Jackowitz, and former Dean of Students Joe McCarthy and his wife Marina. Also in attendance were Neal Duckworth (Office of Executive Education), Kristen Curran and Shae Callahan (both from the Office of Alumni Relations).

Members of the House Earl Blumenauer (OR), Brendan Boyle (PA). Joaquin Castro (TX), Gerald Connolly (VA), Brian Higgins (NY) and Dan Newhouse (WA) attended the reception.

The Council's President, Jayme Johnson, said to those Members of Congress present: "I would welcome those Members of Congress who have attended this evening. But I am the guest, and this is in their joint, so it doesn't seem right. So I will thank them instead. Thank you very much indeed to those Members of Congress who have attended this evening for your time and presence here this evening. At a school of public policy and government, there is no one else who as a community hold in greater esteem than you, who work in very challenging circumstances at certain times. you operate as public servants in often challenging circumstances".

Jayme expressed the unique qualities of the HKS alumni community in D.C., and the special ability to replicate the "electricity" of the Kennedy School, but here in D.C. He invited those present to join the Council for breakfast to discuss millennials and the election, to lunch with Larry Summers, to a panel with Shorenstein Center fellows, and to a Day of Service with Habitat for Humanity - all events in the calendar for the Council.

Dean Elmendorf addressed the HKS alumni community in Washington, D.C. for the first time. He spoke of his desire to hear ideas and suggestions for the school's progress, providing his email, for any alum to contact him directly.

"No matter where I go [in the world], I am impressed by alums commitment to the mission of the Kennedy School. Our goal as a community is to improve public policy and public leadership around the world, so our fellow citizens can lead lives that are safer, healthier, more prosperous, more just, and more fulfilling."

Joey Wang (EE, 2005, 2006) and Lourdes Tinajero (EE, 2009) were the orchestrators of the event, and were ably supported on the night by Councilors Malik Siraj Akbar, Nancy Bearg, Lisa-Joy Zgorski, David Rosenberg, Natalie Colbert, Ruma Samdani and Joelle Schmitz. Friend of the Council, Cindy Ann Peterson went above and beyond the call of duty in supporting proceedings - thank you, Cindy Ann.

Special thanks go to Congresswoman Martha McSally (AZ), Chase Kassel and her team for hosting this HKS alumni reception at the Capitol. Thank you to our collaborators and partners in Cambridge - Executive Education and the Office of Alumni Relations - for co-sponsoring the event.

Featured Posts

Recent Posts


Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page