top of page

New councilors mark the start of an even more exciting year for HKS alums in D.C.

With great pleasure, the HKS DC Alumni Council Election Committee announces the result of the 2016 Council Election held last month. Many thanks to the hundreds of alumni who reside in the DC metro area, playing your part in a record turnout. Thank you too to those who put their name forward as a candidate. The success of the Council and its friends relies solely on these unprecedented high levels of enthusiasm and participation across our community.

Congratulations to the following alums who were duly elected for a three-year term, starting July 1, 2016:

Malik Siraj Akbar, MC/MPC 2015

Lucila Arboyela, MPAID 2015

Yvette Chocolaad, MPP 1987

Michael Koehler, MPA 2014

Joelle Schmitz, MPP 1995

For their photos and bios, please see our website here.

Four councilors concluded their formal service on the Council this summer. All are passionate, loyal servants of the alumni community, and we hope that they will continue to be involved in the coming years. A big thank you for all you have done - Don Walsh, Ellen Stiefvater, Ben Goldsmith and Ankur Shukla.

Council meetings are open to all HKS alumni. They are held monthly, and the next one is on July 11th at 6.30pm at the offices of Oxfam, 1100 15th Street, NW. For more information, email

Featured Posts

Recent Posts


Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page